FRANCOIS VAN COKE'S Biggest Album Launch To Date

FRANCOIS VAN COKE'S Biggest Album Launch To Date

FRANCOIS VAN COKE'S Biggest Album Launch To Date

By Press Release / News / Monday, 21 October 2019 11:51

On 18th October 2019, the beloved SA rocker launched his third solo album, 'Dagdrome in Suburbia (Daydreaming in Suburbia)', to a SOLD OUT Sun Arena (9 700 people) in Pretoria, making it his biggest album launch show to date and restoring faith in the power of hard work and good rock music!

'Dagdrome in Suburbia' – “His best work to date.”

  • Francois and Texx and the City chat everything 'Dagdrome in Suburbia'. Read HERE!

The 'Dagdrome in Suburbia (Daydreaming in Suburbia)' album campaign kicked off on the 30th of August with the release of the first single and music video. The highly successful single with the same name as the album, 'Dagdrome in Suburbia', featuring Spoegwolf, drummed up a lot of excitement and anticipation for the album launch. On the day of release (18 October), the album 'Dagdrome in Suburbia' kicked off at the number 1 position on iTunes and climbed to number 5 on the Apple Music charts.

On the launch day (18 October 2019), the music video for the second single, Daarsy boys, featuring the debut rapping skills of Fokofpolisiekar bandmate, Hunter Kennedy, was also released.

'We’re punk dads from the burbs’' - WATCH DAARSY BOYS below!

A translated excerpt of the lyrics

I’m just an anarchist

Who lives in the burbs

I’m just an anarchist

Who eats at the Spur

Yes, we eat at the Spur


Stream or get Dagdrome in Suburbia 

Album design by Merwe Marchand le Roux

The 11 track album, Dagdrome in Suburbia is Francois’ most exciting work to date. It kicks off with an intro by legendary newsman Riaan Cruywagen, followed by new hits and collaborations with the rapper Riky Rick, Afrikaans rock favourites Spoegwolf, The Voice SA Season 3 winner Tasché, and Fokofpolisiekar bandmate Hunter Kennedy.

The biggest strength of the album is in the collaborations, and not just with the other artists, but with various songwriters, producers, recording at different studios and making use of a few different mixing engineers.

The songs were produced by Fred den Hartog, Theo Crous and Rudolf Willemse. The songwriters include his band Die Gevaar, Hunter Kennedy, Johnny de Ridder, Riky Rick, Karen Zoid and Danie du Toit from Spoegwolf.

“Recording of the album saw Francois travel all over the country including Sunset Studios, Bellville Studios, Figure Productions and Van Coke Studios, with more than half of the tracking taking place at Red Bull Studios Cape Town.”

Follow Francois Van Coke: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram



Please publish modules in offcanvas position.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.